kittens knit*

cast on*

cast off*

e mail*

notes*

2005-01-14 - 6:56 p.m.

Tattoobelly:

My knitting sisters, I bring an amazing tip! I picked this up on the Knitty forum boards, and maybe you've seen it, but I'm here to tell you it Works! If you make something requiring more than one ball/skein of yarn (AND you're using a 100% wool yarn--that's important) you can join the ends together without having to do any darning in.

Here's how it works:

Unravel (fray) the plys apart at the end of the old yarn and the beginning of the new. Wet both ends, put them together in the palm of your hand, and rub your palms together vigorously for a few seconds. The ends will felt together for a strong join, and you can just keep a'knitting.

When I tried this for the first time, 5 minutes ago, I was a little skeptical. I thought, sure, this has worked for others, but something will go wrong and it won't work for me. Not so--it worked and it didn't look weird or anything. I then ran to the computer to tell y'all, because I thought maybe you hate darning in ends as much as I do (a LOT), and this will save time and aggravation.

Have a great weekend,
Eva

previous - next

diaryland